Monte-Carlo, MC
broken clouds
8.1 ° C
12 °
-1.1 °
14 °
12 °
13 °
12 °
12 °
Breaking News

Makeover of Casino Square to dramatically change the look of Monte Carlo

Austrians win closely contested Fireworks Competition

Austrians win closely contested Fireworks Competition

By Staff Writer - August 13, 2017

The International Competition of Fireworks reached its climax on Saturday, August 12, with a display from Australia, but it was the Austrians who won the contest.

Mayor Georges Marsan, surrounded by members of the jury, warmly praised the work of all the organisations for their technical and artistic prowess. Accompanied by his deputy, André J. Campana, President of the jury, he awarded first place to Steyrfire Austria, followed by Howard and Sons Pyrotechnics (Austrlia) and Arthur Rozzi Pyrotechnics (US). France’s 4 Pyragric picked up fourth place.

The artificers of Steyrfire Austria with Mayor Georges Marsan and André J. Campana, President of the Jury. Photo: Mairie Monaco
The artificers of Steyrfire Austria with Mayor Georges Marsan and André J. Campana, President of the Jury. Photo: Mairie Monaco

Following the traditional pattern of four shows, each representing a particular country, France opened the competition on July 22, followed by the Austrians on July 29, then the US on August 5 and finally Australia on Saturday.

Each show was evaluated according to strict scoring criteria ranging from pyro-musical design to final bouquet, through synchronisation, originality, choice of colours, choice of music – each criterion being rated from 0 to 10 points.

It was a difficult decision in the face of shows that have all shown great qualities, the judges said.

There’s still time for the general public to have a say with the opportunity to see or review each of the four shows online on Viewers can then vote for their favourite. The firework team most favoured by the public will be awarded the Audience Award, which will be announced on Saturday, August 19 at midnight on the official website of the Competition.

The jury, chaired by André J. Campana, Deputy Mayor, was composed of Claude Bollati Communal Councillor), Axelle Amalberti-Verdino (General Agent of the Society of Authors, Composers and Music Publishers – SACEM), Jo Bullit (Artistic Director of the Théâtre Fort Antoine/Artist), Séverine Canis-Froidefond (Director of Urban Planning and Mobility), Edmond Putteto, former head of restaurant at SBM), and finally Danielle Marchadier and Mathis Chatillon, both passionate about fireworks.


Monaco the destination for the Red Bull X-Alps


Week in review: Australia Day packs StarDeck, CREM hosts think tanks Monaco-style


Previous articleMonaco establishes Relations with Cape Verde
Next articleOceanographic helps Philippines project through stunning photographs


January 27, 2020 | Local News

Council honours new police cadets

Cassandra Tanti

The National Assembly has welcomed the latest graduates to the Principality’s Police Force.

Stephanie Horsman

An incredible 12-month time lapse video showing the creation of Monaco’s mammoth land extension project has just been released.

January 16, 2020 | Local News

There’s a new bailiff in town

Stephanie Horsman

Monaco has a new bailiff, or huissier as known locally, who was sworn in earlier this week.

January 14, 2020 | Local News

Monaco crime rates continue to fall

Stephanie Horsman

General crime rates in the Principality dropped by a significant 16% between the years 2016 and 2019, and street crime by an impressive 52%.