Modifications to quarantine rules

Last week, a new Sovereign Ordinance was published establishing new rules with regard to quarantine measures for visitors and returnees into the Principality.

The original quarantine rules, which came out on 24th February, have recently been modified to reflect the current Covid-19 situation in Monaco.

As it stands, any person diagnosed with the coronavirus will be quarantined until they are recovered. Now, any person who arrives into the country from a high-risk area or is showing signs of infection may also be subject to a 14-day quarantine during the usual incubation period of the virus.

In general, those considered to be coming from risky places are anyone who lives outside the European Union, with the notable exceptions of visitors from Andorra, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, San Marino, Switzerland, Vatican City and the United Kingdom, though the quarantine-free countries are subject to change at any time.

For example, if any of the aforementioned nations find their country in a situation where there is a cumulative incidence over a two-week period of 60 cases per 100,000 inhabitants, the quarantine for those from that country will be put in place.

People can be exempt from the quarantine if they present a negative PCR test that had been carried out in the previous 72 hours before arrival.

Photo: Pixabay