Monaco, MC
few clouds
13.6 ° C
16 °
8.9 °
15 °
13 °
12 °
12 °
15 °
Breaking News

Transport disruptions expected to continue as union strikes roll on throughout France

Modric receives Golden Foot Award

Modric receives Golden Foot Award

By Cassandra Tanti - November 13, 2019

Real Madrid’s Luka Modric has landed the 2019 Golden Foot award, an accolade that recognises the best player aged over 28 who stands out for their on-field achievements, both as an individual and a team player.

Modric collected the award in Monaco on Tuesday night in recognition of his outstanding career, which, amongst other honours, has yielded 15 pieces of silverware with Real Madrid: four Champions League crowns and Club World Cups apiece, a trio of UEFA Super Cups, a LaLiga title, a Copa del Rey and a pair of Spanish Super Cups.

“I’m really happy and it’s an honour to be collecting this award,” said Modric after receiving the award. “Some great players have won it in the past and winning it fills me with great pride”.

The Golden Foot has been awarded annually under the patronage of Prince Albert II of Monaco since 2003. The nominees are chosen by a jury of representatives from specialist media outlets from across the world and the winner is decided by an online vote.

Previous winners have included Ronaldo (2006), Ibrahimovic (2012), Casillas (2017) and Cavani (2018).


Previous articleHerrmann reflects on Malizia’s finish
Next articleNBA star joins Monaco Basketball


Stephanie Horsman

George Frederic Handel’s renowned work Messiah will be performed by the Vocal and Instrumental group Ristretto just in time for the holidays.

Stephanie Horsman

Princess Charlene spent a day in Abu Dhabi to support Monegasque race car driver Charles Leclerc for the last race of the Formula 1 season.

December 6, 2019 | News

Monaco hosts World Top Model final

Cassandra Tanti

For the first time, Monte Carlo will play host to the World Top Model final, set to take place on 14th December at the Fairmont Hotel.

Cassandra Tanti

Monaco Telecom has given a donation to the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, money that was raised from its commitment to reduce the use of paper in its organisation. Martin Peronnet, General Manager of Monaco Telecom, recently gave Olivier Wenden, Vice President Managing Director of the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, a donation […]