Monaco GP lands award in London

The Monaco Grand Prix has been presented this year’s 2nd Gregor Grant Award at the 2019 Autosport Awards, an honour which was accepted by Prince Albert in London.

The award celebrates the 90th anniversary of Formula 1’s most prestigious event, which was first run in 1929. Monaco has hosted 66 grands prix and forms part of the ‘Triple Crown’ of motorsport alongside the Le Mans 24 Hours and the Indianapolis 500.

“It’s a great privilege,” said Prince Albert in collecting the award on Sunday evening. “The history and everything that makes this grand prix so special, we’re so proud to be able to contribute [to Monaco’s history].”

Monaco GP winner David Coulthard was also present and spoke about the ‘magic’ of Monaco. “There’s nothing more thrilling than going to Casino Square at full speed in a Formula 1 car,” he told guests.

Meanwhile, six-time Formula 1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton claimed the International Racing Driver of the Year, and the Mercedes-AMG F1 W10 EQ Power+ took out racing car of the year.

Winners of the awards voted for by the readers of Autosport were:

Rider of the Year, presented by Tata Communications – Marc Márquez 

International Racing Driver of the Year, presented by Pirelli – Lewis Hamilton

British Competition Driver of the Year – Lando Norris

Rally Car of the Year – Toyota Yaris WRC

Richard Mille Rookie of the Year – Alex Albon

Rally Driver of the Year – Ott Tänak 

National Driver of the Year – Colin Turkington

Racing Car of the Year, presented by Pirelli – Mercedes-AMG F1 W10 EQ Power+

Other awards conferred:-

The Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award – Jonathan Hoggard

The Autosport Williams Engineer of the Future Award – Luke Dardis

The Mahindra Pioneering and Innovation Award – W Series

 The Gregor Grant Award – Dick Bennetts, WSR

 The Gregor Grant Award – Monaco GP

 The John Bolster Award – Charlie Whiting

Moment of the Year, presented by Marelli – Jean-Éric Vergne


Now in its 36th year, the Autosport Awards is the motorsport industry’s most prestigious awards event and the only one to celebrate achievement across all the major series of the sport.