12 ° C
Light Rain Showers
Breaking News

1 new Covid case on 30 Nov. brings total to 609: 10 hospitalised, 7 resident + 4 in ICU, 2 resident, 19 home monitored, 556 recoveries, 3 deaths

New ambassadors: Lithuania, Armenia, Colombia and Ethiopia

New ambassadors: Lithuania, Armenia, Colombia and Ethiopia

By Cassandra Tanti - October 20, 2020

Four new ambassadors have presented their Letters of Credence to HSH Prince Albert and have been officially welcomed by the Monaco government.

Minister of External Relations and Cooperation Laurent Anselmi received on Tuesday 20th October Ambassador of the Republic of Lithuania Nerijus Aleksiejunas, Ambassador of the Republic of Armenia Hasmik Tolmajyan, Ambassador of the Republic of Colombia Viviane Aleyda Morales Hoyos, and Ambassador of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia Henok Teferra Shawl.

The diplomats had presented their Letters of Credence to HSH the Sovereign Prince in the morning.

Nerijus Aleksiejunas began his diplomatic career in the Parliament of the Republic of Lithuania in 2000. The following year he joined the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA). After a stint at the European Commission and the European Union, he was appointed Deputy Director of the European Union Department at the MFA in 2014, then Foreign Affairs Advisor to the President in 2015.

Hasmik Tolmajyan joined the Armenian MFA in 1995 where she held various positions before being appointed Advisor to the Minister in 2008. In 2014, she was promoted to Minister Plenipotentiary at the Embassy of the Republic of Armenia to the Swiss Confederation.

Senior official of the Colombian Ministry of Economic Development from 1986 to 1990, Viviane Aleyda Morales Hoyos was elected to the Colombian House of Representatives in 1991, and re-elected in 1994. Senator of the Republic of Colombia for eight years, she was also the first woman to hold the post of Attorney General of the Nation.

After a seven-year course at the Ethiopian MFA, Henok Teferra Shaw was successively appointed Director in 2010, then Vice-President of Communications and International Affairs in 2013 at Ethiopan Airlines. He was subsequently tasked with implementing the five-year growth strategy of ASKY Airlines, and then returned to Ethiopian Airlines as Vice President for Strategic Planning and Alliances.


Photo from left to right: Henok Teferra Shawl, Viviane Aleyda Morales Hoyos, Laurent Anselmi, Hasmik Tolmajyan, and Nerijus Aleksiejunas, courtesy Communication Department of the Prince’s Government / Michael Alesi



Previous articleSilversea wins award for sustainability
Next articlePolice force joins Energy Pact


November 30, 2020 | Business & Finance

Boosting remote opportunities for Italian workers

Cassandra Tanti

Remote working for cross-border employees was the hot topic of discussion between the Monaco government and Italy’s new Ambassador in Monaco Giulio Alaimo this week.

November 30, 2020 | Business & Finance

Green light to chase casino debt

Stephanie Horsman

The National Council has passed a long-awaited bill allowing the SBM to chase bad debts incurred at its casinos – a move which could already put millions back into its coffers.

November 29, 2020 | Business & Finance

Monaco welcomes new ambassadors

Stephanie Horsman

The Principality has received four new ambassadors this week from Japan, Spain, Czech Republic and India.

November 25, 2020 | Business & Finance

France to ease lockdown within days

Stephanie Horsman

Four weeks after France entered its second lockdown, the country will begin its gradual release, with stores reopening just in time for the busy Christmas period.