Rugby: Monaco’s Stade Louis II chosen to host Olympic ‘repechage’ stages next June

monaco repechage

Monaco and the Stade Louis II have, for the third consecutive Olympic Games, been selected as the hosts of the Rugby Sevens ‘repechage’ tournament, which will take place in June 2024.  

On 15th December, World Rugby, the governing body for the rugby union, announced that the Rugby Sevens repechage tournament, which determines the last of the teams that will head to Paris for the Olympics, will be held at Stade Louis II in Monaco. 

It marks the third consecutive time that the Principality has been given this honour, having hosted the event previously in 2016 before the Rio Games and in 2020 before Tokyo. 

“The Olympic Games are the biggest multi-sport event in the world and a stage like no other for rugby players to share with other incredible athletes from across the globe.  The prize of being able to compete for your country for an Olympic medal is an incredibly precious one and I am sure we will see some intense and passionate world class rugby in Monaco as team’s compete for those highly coveted final qualification places to achieve their Olympic dreams,” said World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont following the announcement.  

In a joint statement released by Monaco’s Prince Albert and Princess Charlene, the Princely couple also welcomed the news warmly, saying, “It is a great honour to be hosting the Olympic qualification tournament in Monaco for the third time in a row. Rugby sevens is playing an increasingly important part in the Principality, and we are delighted to be part of this wonderful adventure. We wish the 2024 Olympic qualification tournaments great success.” 


The Monaco competitions will be held over three days, from 21st to 23rd June, and will feature 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams from around the world.  

Among the contenders for the final men’s places are: South Africa, Great Britain, Canada, Spain, Brazil, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Tonga and Uganda.  

The women’s spots are equally contested, and the list of teams set to play include: Argentina, China, the Czech Republic, Hong Kong, Kenya, Jamaica, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Poland, Samoa and Uganda. 

For more information, click here.


Join the Monaco Life community – the largest English media in the Principality. 

Sign up for the Monaco Life newsletter, and follow us on  Facebook, Instagram , LinkedIn  and Tik Tok.


Photo by Monaco Life