The countdown to the Monaco E-Prix has begun

monaco e-prix

Kicking off the spring motorsport season in the Principality is the Monaco E-Prix, which will be back in action on 27th April. 

Formula E, the electric-powered version of Formula 1, will be returning to the iconic Monaco circuit in a matter of weeks.  

The sport is gaining in popularity among motorsports lovers and more than 20,000 people turned out in Monaco last year to watch their favourite drivers take on one of the world’s most challenging street tracks.

See more: Dates for Monaco Grand Prix, ePrix and Historic Grand Prix revealed

The Principality was among the early adopters of this more eco-friendly style of racing and hosted the inaugural Monaco E-Prix in 2015, just months after the very first race was held in Beijing in September 2014.  


The Monaco race is always a big hit, particularly for fans of the locally-based Maserati MSG Racing team and its drivers, Max Günther and Jehan Daruvala. This year’s race will be Daruvala’s first time out on the Monaco circuit in competition as he is in his Formula E rookie season.  

To date, Maserati MSG Racing has earned nine wins, five pole positions and 25 podium finishes, but no driver for the team has ever won the Monaco E-Prix.  

Other top-name drivers set to compete at the upcoming stage are Renault’s Sébastien Buemi, DS Penske’s Jean-Éric Vergne, and Nick Cassidy and Mitch Evans from Jaguar TCS Racing. Cassidy won last year’s race.  


Join the Monaco Life community – sign up for the Monaco Life newsletter, and follow us on Threads, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and Tik Tok.  


Photo credit: Automobile Club de Monaco